Leaf mobile

I’ve been daydreaming about replacing the track lighting above our dining room table with a chandelier or a drum light fixture, but it’s not in the budget.  To liven up the space above our table and to celebrate fall, I created a fall leaf mobile.

I’ve owned a photo clip mobile for several years, so I had a structure to work with.  It’s similar to this mobile.  I bought two packets of fabric leaves.  While real leaves would be lovely, they’re also prone to getting dry and crumbly and are difficult to sew.

Based on the number of clips on the mobile and the number of leaves, I decided to sew them into clusters of five to nine.  I used gold thread to sew the leaves together by hand.

One of my daughter A’s favorite books is I Am a Bunny.  When we read the pages about falling leaves she points to the leaf mobile.

-Eliina

 

One response to “Leaf mobile

  1. Pingback: Halloween Mobile | 3E Design

Leave a Reply

